Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Percussion and Wind Orchestra (Garcia de Castro)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Federico García de Castro

Federico García de Castro

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Federico García de Castro
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
Solo Percussion
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV-V-VI
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

Percussion Soloist:

  • Garifuna Drum Or Similar
  • Kalimba And A China Small Cymbal Placed Upside-Down On Drum
  • Noah Bells, (4)
  • Thai Gongs, Or Similar
  • Tam-Tam, Small
  • Spring Coil
  • Chinese Drums Or Similar (4)
  • Membranophones (Toms, Congas, Bongos, Etc.), 5
  • Pieces Of Wood, 12 Small, Arranged In Chromatic Layout
  • Brake Drums, 3

Orchestra player:

  • Vibraphone
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Bass Drum (With Cymbal Attachment)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Carlos Camacho and I started discussing a percussion concerto in 2016, and one of the things I knew since the beginning was that it would feature the kalimba (also known as thumb piano) somewhat prominently. I had seen Camacho improvise in setups similar to the one in this concerto, pivoting around the kalimba. The beginning of the piece features techniques and sounds (hitting the instrument with mallets rather than playing it with the fingers) that are the result of a search for resources specifically for this work. But the middle section is directly inspired by Camacho's improvisations, around which I weaved a texture for the clarinet choir, and then for the horns. Later the full brass drive this into an assertive fanfare. The rhythmic section that follows produces a gradual build up, finally leading to a held chord over which the soloist presents a final thought.

Written for Carlos Camacho and the Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music Wind Orchestra.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Wind Orchestra (Terence Milligan, conductor; Carlos Camacho, percussion) – 1 March 2017 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer