Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Flute and Symphonic Band (Saul)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Walter Saul

Walter Saul

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tarsus Music
Cost: Parts (print) - $75.00;   |   Score Only (print) - $125.00


1. Grandioso - Allegro
2. Adagio con Gran Espressione
3. Vivace Giojoso


Full Score
Solo Flute
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Piano (optional)
Harp (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba I-II
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In late 2017, Lauren Nichols, a flute performance major at Fresno Pacific University in Fresno, California, and a protégé of Janette Erickson, principal flutist with the Fresno Philharmonic, was offered a solo appearance with the Fresno Pacific University Symphonic Band in the spring of 2019. I nonchalantly suggested that she could introduce a brand new flute concerto that I would compose for her, and she eagerly agreed to the proposal.

The work was hurriedly sketched in early spring of 2018. Its optimism and effusive joy reflect my hopes for the new generation of excellent musicians such as Lauren and the members of the Symphonic Band that grace our campus, community and world.

The opening movement is in a very traditional sonata-allegro form with a grand introduction, a sparkly main theme and a chorale-like second theme, all reflecting the joy and solemnity of the faith in Jesus Christ that is the cornerstone of our Fresno Pacific University community. The reflective slow movement ponders the sufferings of our Savior and the peace He thereby established with us and the world. The flamboyant jig that ends the concerto reflects Jesus Christ's last laugh at death. This seems so appropriate in a year when Passover and Easter are celebrated together as they originally were when Christ rose from the dead, and when Easter falls on April Fool's Day!

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer