Concerto for Alto Saxophone & Wind Ensemble (Pegram)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jules Pegram

Jules Pegram

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Alto saxophone and piano
Publisher: JPEG Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental


1. Con bravura – 6:20
2. Grave, molto rubato – 4:55
3. Vivacissimo – 4:50


Full Score
Solo Alto Saxophone
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle (small, medium and large)
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Concerto for Alto Saxophone & Wind Ensemble (2018) was commissioned jointly by the Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble and the Mt. San Antonio College Wind Ensemble (Dr. Gregory Xavier Whitmore, conductor). The world premiere performance by the Pacific Symphony Youth Wind Ensemble -- under the direction of Dr. Gregory Xavier Whitmore and featuring alto saxophone soloist Andrew Harrison -- was presented in Costa Mesa, California, on March 10, 2019.

In the first movement, the saxophone bolts forward with brilliance and energy. An equally virtuosic ensemble counterpart constantly amps up the tension, making for a lightning-fast musical repartee. The second movement demonstrates the lyric capacity and sonic richness of the saxophone. In setting this dark middle movement, I strove to write sweeping lines and lush, film noir-inspired textures. The music here is lonesome and pensive, creating a warm atmosphere of haunting pathos. The final movement is a jaunty escapade based on a lyrical, sweet melody. The tune meanders through a series of developments and variations, all the while showing off the saxophone’s extensive range, bright timbral possibilities, and extraordinary agility.

- Program Note by composer


  • ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize, 2018, winner


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer