Concerto for 23 Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
Walter Hartley

Walter Hartley

General Info

Year: 1957
Duration: c. 17:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Accura Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $129.50   |   Score Only - $36.00


1. Andante-Allegro non troppo - 5:30
2. Vivace - 2:40
3. Lento - 5:00
4. Allegro Molto - 3:25


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (II-III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II-III (III doubling English Horn)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (III doubling Bass Clarinet)
Bassoon I-II-III (III doubling Contrabassoon)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hartley composed this work for the Eastman Wind Ensemble in 1957 and it was premiered by that group during the Eastman School’s annual Festival of American Music in 1958. Hartley sent the following comments to conductor Frederick Fennell concerning the Concerto:

The work is in four movements roughly corresponding to those of the classical symphony or sonata in form, but it is textually more related to the style of the Baroque concerto, being essentially a large chamber work in which different soloists and groups of soloists play in contrast with each other and with the group as a whole. The color contrasts between instruments and choirs of instruments are sometimes simultaneous, sometimes antiphonal; both homophony and polyphony are freely used ... The first and last movements make the most use of the full ensemble; the second, a scherzo, features the brass instruments, the slow third movement, the woodwinds. The harmonic style is freely tonal throughout. There is a certain three-note motif (ascending G-A-D) which is heard harmonically at the beginning and dominates the melodic material of the last three movements.

- Program notes from Band Music Notes and Frederick Fennell


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Wind Ensemble (Rodney Dorsey, conductor) – 20 September 2022
  • Florida State University (Tallahassee) Wind Orchestra (Matthew Boswell, conductor) - 27 April 2021
  • Stephen F. Austin University (Nacogdoches, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (David Campo, conductor) - 1 April 2021
  • West Chester University (Penn.) Chamber Wind Ensemble (Andrew Yozviak, conductor) – 27 February 2020
  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Mark Scatterday, conductor) – 1 April 2019
  • Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, Md.) Peabody Wind Ensemble (Harland D. Parker, conductor) – 11 April 2018
  • Cleveland State University (Ohio) Wind Ensemble (Birch Browning, conductor) – 5 October 2017
  • University of Illinois (Champaign) Wind Symphony (Stephen G. Peterson, conductor) – 1 April 2017
  • Lynn Conservatory of Music (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor)– 14 January 2017
  • Appalachian State University (Boone, N.C. ) Wind Ensemble (John Stanley Ross, conductor) – 27 April 2016
  • University of Maryland Wind Orchestra (Michael Votta, conductor) – 9 October 2015
  • Lynn Conservatory of Music (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor) – 22 January 2009
  • University of Georgia (Athens) Wind Symphony (Dwight Satterwhite, conductor) – 22 February 2001 (CBDNA 2001 National Conference, Denton, Tx.)

Works for Winds by This Composer