Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto IV (Flute, Piano and Percussion Ensemble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (trans. Steven Paxton; ed. H.A. Young)

This work bears the designation BWV 1055.

General Info

Year: c. 1738 / 2015
Duration: c. 13:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Creative Spirit Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $30.00; (digital) - $24.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00; (digital) - $16.00


1. Allegro – 4:20
2. Larghetto – 5:00
3. Allegro ma non tanto – 4:10


Full Score
Solo Flute
Percussion I-II-III (3 players), including:

  • Marimba (4.6 octaves)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

J.S. Bach's Concerto in A major for harpsichord and strings, BWV 1055, has been found in two versions written out by Bach in 1738 and 1742, and intended for performances by Collegium Musicum Leipzig, which Bach directed. It is among an impressive array of concertos composed -- or reconstructed -- during his years as director of this student musical society. Performances by Collegium Musicum took place at Zimmermann's Coffeehouse (Zimmermannsche Kaffeehaus), Leipzig's largest and most prestigious coffeehouse and a gathering place for the middle classes and gentlemen. Women were forbidden from frequenting coffeehouses, but permitted to attend public concerts at Zimmermann's.

Scholars agree that BWV 1055 was transcribed by Bach himself from an earlier concerto for a melody instrument, probably oboe d'amore. This original concerto may have been composed during his tenure as kapellmeister in Cöthen (1717-1723) or earlier in his Leipzig period (1723-1750).

My transcriptions for various solo instruments with piano or keyboard ensembles (percussion and piano) are based on Mark Biggam's reconstruction for oboe d'amore and Werner Breig's reduction for two pianos, the latter based on Brieg's own scholarly critical edition in VII/4 of the New Bach Edition.

- Program Note by transcriber


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works