Concerto Grosso in D minor

From Wind Repertory Project
Antonio Vivaldi

Antonio Vivaldi (arr. and adapt. Alfredo Antonini; scored John Cacavas)

Subtitle: op. 2 [i.e. 3], no. 11. 1, Adagio & Allegro

General Info

Year: 1968
Duration: c. 3:58
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Chappell Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.


Full Score
Condensed Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Concerto Grosso in D Minor is one of Vivaldi’s best- known works. Published first in 1712 as a concerto for two violins, cello, and string orchestra, the work was transcribed for organ by J.S. Bach and considered one of his original compositions for several generations. Bach studied Vivaldi’s music assiduously, transcribing three of his string concertos for organ and three for harpsichord. The Concerto Grosso in D Minor opens with an allegro-adagio-allegro, continues with a largo, and concludes with a busy allegro.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Florida: IV
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 613.
  • Vivaldi, A.; Antonini, A.; Cacavas, J. (1968). Concerto Grosso in D minor, op. 2 [i.e. 3], no. 11. 1, Adagio & Allegro [score]. Chappell: New York.