Concertino for Trombone (Ticheli)

From Wind Repertory Project
Frank Ticheli

Frank Ticheli

General Info

Year: 1984 / 1987 / 2004
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manhattan Beach Music
Cost: Score and Parts (Rental) - $500.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Dialogue - 5:14
2. Interlude - 2:37
3. Dance - 4:08


  • C Full Score
  • Solo Trombone
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe I-II
  • Bassoon I-II
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-II-III, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbal
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal (2: small and medium)
*Tom-tom (4)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Concertino for Trombone and Band was composed in 1984 for the trombonist H. Dennis Smith. Its three movements are played without a pause. The first movement is a dialogue between the soloist and the ensemble. A cadenza bridges the first movement to the second, which is a brief interlude exploiting the lyrical qualities of the cup-muted trombone. The ensemble suddenly interrupts the peaceful flow of the interlude, and paves the way for the final dance.

- Program Note from Permian High School Symphonic Band concerto program, 20 December 2006


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works