Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concertino for Piano Solo, Winds, Percussion and Harp

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kamilló Lendvay

Kamilló Lendvay

General Info

Year: 1961 / 1983
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Cost: Score and Parts - $49.00   |   Score Only - $25.00


1. Allegretto
2. Adagio Cantabil
3. Allegro Furioso


Full Score
Piano Solo
Flute I-II
Flute III (doubles Piccolo)
Oboe I
Oboe II (doubles English Horn)
Bassoon I
Bassoon II (doubles Double Bassoon)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
C Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Percussion, including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Bongos
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

1960 saw the first performance of Lendvay's Concertino for Piano Solo, Winds, Percussion and Harp, an outstanding contribution to the Hungarian concerto literature of the mid-twentieth century. In this work, Lendvay was powerfully influenced by three of Hungary’s greatest composers, Béla Bartók, Zoltán Kodály and Franz Liszt. A touch of nineteenth century romanticism reminiscent of Franz Liszt is clearly heard in the slow second movement. Lendvay’s fondness for repeated notes and passages based on alternating patterns producing strong rhythmic forces in the first and third movements reminds the listener of Bartók’s numerous works for piano. Although Lendvay’s music is steeped in the musical developments of the twentieth century, it is deeply inspired and is accessible to today’s audiences.

- Program Note by William V. Johnson for the San Luis Obispo Wind Orchestra concert program, 16 November 2013



(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Lendvay, K. (1961). Concertino: For Piano Solo, Winds, Percussion and Harp [score]. Editio Musica Budapest: Budapest.