Concertino for Percussion and Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
Joshua Nichols

Joshua Nichols

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 6:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Joshua Nichols
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00


Full Score
Solo Percussion
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Shaker
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work is a collaboration between my brother, the soloist, and the ensemble, my alma mater. The work is derived from groove-oriented backbeats, pockets, and sensational percussion performances. Simple ideas pervade the ensemble, as it tries to assimilate its tones with the groove of the percussion. As short as it may be, it is constantly grooving and moving to subdivisions, metric modulations, and thick harmonies.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer