Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concertino for Marimba and Winds (Reed)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 16:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Nocturne – 7:40
2. Scherzetto – 2:50
3. Toccata – 4:40


Full Score
Solo Marimba (4.5 octaves)
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Dance Set (or Drumset)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone (4.0 octaves)


In Parts:

  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 1,m.7: "rit. e dim. al" marking should be on beat 1
  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 1, m.16, beat 1: Add a "p" dynamic marking
  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 1, m.66: "cresc." marking should be placed after "mp" dynamic on beat 1
  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 3, m.58: Should be F-natural, not F-sharp
  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 3, m.158: Should be A-natural, not A-flat
  • String Bass, mvt. 2, m.51: 1st note should be D, not F
  • String Bass, mvt. 3, m.31,64,80,136: Add rehearsal numbers [31] [64] [80] [136]

In Condensed score:

  • Solo Marimba, mvt. 1, m.47: Third note should be A, not G

Program Notes

Written for famed Japanese marimba soloist Reiko Kono, this concerto-like work is accompanied by the full resources of the modern concert band. The movements are a romantic “Nocturne”, a gay, lilting “Scherzetto”, and a brilliant “Toccata” which is surprisingly set to a swing-boogie rhythmic background.

Concertino for Marimba and Winds was commissioned for and is dedicated to Reiko Kono with great warmth and affection.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Come, Sweet Death (Flex instrumentation) (as transcriber; arr. Benson) (1736/1976/2019)
  • Two Bagatelles (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1983/1997/2010)

All Wind Works