Concertino for Marimba and Band (Creston)

From Wind Repertory Project
Paul Creston

Paul Creston

This work bears the designation Opus 21b.

General Info

Year: 1940 / 1975
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G. Schirmer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


1. Vigorous – 5:10
2. Calm – 6:40
3. Lively – 5:05


Full Score
Solo Marimba
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Ruth Stuber-Jeanne (née Stuber) (1910-2004) was an American marimbist, percussionist, violinist, and arranger. On April 29, 1940, she and Orchestrette Classique, an all-female orchestra, premiered Concertino for Marimba and Orchestra by American composer Paul Creston. The performance was at Carnegie Hall. Creston wrote Concertino for Stuber and dedicated it to the orchestra's director, Frédérique Petrides, who asked Creston to compose it. Creston was in the audience at the première. The 1940 program notes stated that Concertino was “the only work ever written for this instrument in serious form.”


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Creston, P. (1975). Concertino for Marimba and Band, op. 21b [score]. G. Schirmer: New York.