Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concertino for Four Percussion and Wind Ensemble

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Gillingham

David Gillingham

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 9:00
Rating: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00; (digital) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00; (digital) - $50.00


Full Score
Solo Percussion I-II-III-IV
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone

Soloists require:

  • Bass Drums (4: 2 sets of 2 graduated)
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales (high octave only)
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba I-II (II 4.3 octaves)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Timpani (5 drums)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone (with motor)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The original conception of this work, Concertino for Four Percussion and Wind Ensemble, was commissioned by the Oklahoma State University Wind Ensemble, Joseph Missal, conductor and Wayne Bovenschen, Professor of Percussion studies. The Concertino or “small concerto” seeks to exploit keyboard, membrane, and auxiliary percussion instruments with the marimbas, xylophone, timpani, vibraphone, and bass drums as the featured instruments, assisted by crash cymbals, suspended cymbal, tam-tam, bells, chimes, triangle, and hi-hat to enhance both the ensemble and the solo instruments.

Two thematic motives are used as a point of departure for this work. Both appear in the slow and mysterious introduction. The first, played by the marimbas, is dramatic, and the second is haunting and played by the vibraphone and bells. The following Allegro is structured similar to a rondo with recurrences of both themes interspersed by episodic sections. The first theme, however, is transformed into a very lively arpeggiated tune played by the xylophone and marimba. The coda is marked by a relentless rhythmic competition of two sets of bass drums whichaccompany the primary thematic material as first heard in the slow introduction. The work draws to a resounding conclusion when the second haunting theme is stated dramatically in tour de force by the brass.

- Program Note from University of Missouri Wind Ensemble concert program, 3 December 2015


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • Louisiana: IV
  • North Carolina: VI
  • South Carolina: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works