Combination March (arr Marcus)

From Wind Repertory Project
Scott Joplin

Scott Joplin (arr. Ted R. Marcus)

General Info

Year: 1896 / 1981 / 2015
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ted R. Marcus
Cost: Score and Parts - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Combination March is one of Scott Joplin's earliest piano pieces, published in 1896. The significance of its title is lost to history. Although Joplin had not yet developed his signature syncopated ragtime style, this early work amply demonstrates his gift for creating entertaining music.

Combination March begins like a typical late-19th century march, with a four-measure introduction and a repeated 16-measure first strain. Next is a rather unusual eight-measure interlude in the minor mode, followed by a repeated 16-measure second strain notable for its dynamic contrasts. A bugle call introduces the Trio, which unexpectedly sounds like a German beer-barrel polka. It could reflect Joplin's exposure to German immigrants who settled in his native Texas. It might also be a tribute to his German-born music teacher and mentor, Julius Weiss. The final strain seems a precursor to the famous rags-- marches with syncopated melodies-- Joplin would begin to publish three years later.

- Program note by Ted R. Marcus


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Peninsula Symphonic Winds (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.) (Richard Babcock, conductor) – 16 February 1997
  • Peninsula Symphonic Winds (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.) (Ted R. Marcus, guest conductor) – 18 June 2006

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.