Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Clarinet Concerto for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Amanda Harberg

Amanda Harberg (trans. Amanda Harberg and Franklin Hansen)

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Clarinet and orchestra
Publisher: Unknown
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Gentle/Playful – 5:38
2. Interlude – 3:09
3. Agitato – 4:46


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Double Bass
Percussion I-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal I-II
  • Tom-Toms
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

My Clarinet Concerto has three contrasting yet closely related movements and was composed during a painful time. The thematic materials emerged as emotional reactions to the death of a dear friend, and to the terminal illness of a close family member. The nostalgic first movement begins with a sweetly mellifluous opening melody contrasted by a playful secondary theme. The youthful, innocent quality found in the first movement transforms in the short second movement to a more immediate emotional space colored by sadness and loss. The final movement transforms the material from the opening movement into an insistent dance full of dark, agitated energy.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • East Carolina University (Greenville) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (William Staub, conductor; Douglas Moore-Monroe, clarinet) - 4 November 2022 *Premiere Wind Ensemble Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer