Clarinet Concerto (Ellerby)

From Wind Repertory Project
Martin Ellerby

Martin Ellerby

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Studio Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £164.95   |   Score Only (print) - £34.95


1. Carousel
2. Cameo
3. Charabanc


Full Score
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (II doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (III doubling E-flat Alto Clarinet)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos (2)
  • Claves
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Tree
  • Side Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophones (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I particularly wanted to write a work that would prove attractive to soloists, bands and audiences, whilst maintaining all the sense of drama and repose associated with concertos in general. I very much consider this to be a 'sunshine' concerto, and the resulting work was written in a frenzy of activity in the late summer of 2000.

The opening Carousel takes a leaf out of the American minimalist composers' book and is energetic and resourceful throughout, conjuring up images of a fairground ride that is not too much of an intrepid adventure! The central Cameo presents and re-presents a delicate, highly legato, melisma for the soloist. A somewhat brooding central episode provides both a moment of contrast and the opportunity for the soloist to deliver some free cadenza-type material before returning to the security of the opening calm.

The closing Charabanc is a freely developed rondo-style finale embracing influences from jazz and other light music forms. Listeners are encouraged to use their own imagination, as it is intended to be whatever you want it to be.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by and dedicated to Linda Merrick.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer