Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Cityscape II (Lonely Hours Anguished Night)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

This work is the second movement of Holsinger's City Symphony

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 9:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium Tuba
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Claves (metal)
  • Cowbell
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Police Whistle
  • Ribbon Crasher
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Timbales
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraslap
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Usually when I fly to the New York City area, I tend for whatever reason to land in Newark, New Jersey, but a couple of years ago, on a trip to Long Island, New York, my arrival destination was the sometimes scary, but always aviationally historic LaGuardia Airport. As far as I am concerned, the magnificent view of New York City Harbor and the pass by Manhattan up the East River is the most magnificent seven minutes view imaginable. The inspirational panorama of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island combined with the density and magnitude of New York City is incredible when viewed from a few thousand feet overhead! CITYSCAPE II is Act Two of a three-part series of compositions inspired by that short flight. As CITYSCAPE I celebrated the festive early evening of a vibrant, pulsating city, CITYSCAPE II moves into the deeper night, the darker side, the lonely hours preceeding dawn. It is a two-sided coin, one side quiet and despairing and the other, ripe with the kinetic energy of pursuit and danger. It is a prelude, however disturbing, that will presage a thankful dawn emulating the promise of salvation light!

Program Note by composer


State Ratings

North Carolina: VI; Concert Band Masterworks


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Lee University (Cleveland, Tenn.) Wind Ensemble (David Holsinger, conductor) – 25 February 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer