City of Gold

From Wind Repertory Project
Steven Reineke

Steven Reineke

This work is the first movement of the composer's Symphony No. 1, "New Day Rising."

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 8:28
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $8.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Siren Whistle
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In commemoration of the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake Centennial and dedicated to the Contra Costa Wind Symphony, in celebration of their 25th anniversary, Duane Carroll, conductor.

- Program Note from score

In 2005, I had the distinct pleasure of spending several months writing my first symphony. I am forever in debt to Duane Carroll and the Contra Costa Wind Symphony for asking me to undertake such a daunting task. Symphony No. 1,"New Day Rising" was written to commemorate the centennial of the great 1906 earthquake in San Francisco, and I was fortunate enough to conduct the premiere of the piece on April 18, 2006, in that beautiful city, exactly 100 years to the day.

The piece begins with an ominous and foreboding prologue that signifies the danger beneath the Earth and the destruction that will soon ensue. The music soon fades into a glorious picture of San Francisco at the turn of the 20th century. It is a vibrant, colorful place where we hear the sounds of ragtime and trolley cars and the city is bustling with life and commerce.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Reineke, S. (2007). Symphony No. 1: New Day Rising [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.