From Wind Repertory Project
Joseph Turrin

Joseph Turrin

Subtitle: For Solo Trumpet and Wind Symphony

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 16:50
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $185.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


1. Prologue - 6:13
2. Lamentation - 5:47
3. Epilogue - 4:57


Full Score
Solo B-flat Trumpet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I composed Chronicles during the summer of 1998. It is the second large trumpet work I have written for Philip Smith, the first being the Concerto for Trumpet commissioned by the New York Philharmonic in 1988. This work in many ways could also be considered a concerto, if not in a strict sense of form, at least in its expansiveness. The first movement (Prologue) has several thematic ideas that interweave throughout. There is a mixture of pointillism versus lyricism here along with a driving pulse create by running scale passages shared between soloist and ensemble. I also use a fanfare-like motif (as in the opening solo trumpet cadenza) which serves as a unifying force that reappears throughout. There is a quick coda, ending with a seven-bar chorale in which the solo trumpet recaps material from the opening cadenza.

The second movement (Lamentation) begins with a chorale and consists of several contrasting sections: Section A, the opening chorale with the soloist entering in the latter half of the section. Following is Section B (a restless agitato). This section builds to a short climax which leads us to Section C (a plaintive melody in the clarinets followed by a building of tension in the brass). Section D follows (a lyrical trumpet melody with a steady ostinato accompaniment). There is a short trumpet cadenza followed by the return of the opening chorale. The movement slowly fades into silence.

The last movement (Epilogue) is a rondo in 3/4 time. There are several sections, all of which lead to a trumpet cadenza. Following the cadenza is a fast coda bringing back material from the first movement. The solo trumpet states one last high staccato fanfare as the piece whirls to it conclusion.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Joseph Turrin website Accessed 12 September 2021
  • Turrin, J. (2000). Chronicles: For Trumpet and Wind Symphony [score]. J. Turrin Music: [Clifton, N.J.]