Chiaroscuro (Sheldon)

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

Subtitle: Symphonic Dances in Shades of Darkness and Light

The work bears the designation Opus 79.

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 8:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This visual-arts technique of using light and darkness has a natural parallel in music, as illustrated by this exceptional work. Chiaroscuro comprises of four interconnected, dance-like movements that portray various dance gestures. The first movement is dark and menacing, the second depicts a dreamy forest scene, the third movement has a jazz and Latin influence, and the the final movement comprises a joyous tarantella that accelerates to its tumultuous ending. This has real musical depth and is a stunning work.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Robert Sheldon website Accessed 3 September 2021
  • Sheldon, R. (2002). Chiaroscuro : Symphonic Dances in Shades of Darkness and Light [score]. Alfred Publishing: Van Nuys, Calif.