From Wind Repertory Project
Luís Carvalho

Luís Carvalho

Subtitle: Três Esquissos para Banda Sinfónica (Three Sketches for Symphonic Wind Band )

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 21:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Molenaar
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €222.60   |   Score Only (print) - €44.52


1. Maestoso, sostenuto assai - 4:40
2. Grave - 9:50
3. Con anima - 5:40


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos (3)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Log Drums (3)
  • Marimba
  • Slapstick
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal, small, medium and large
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Thunder Sheet
  • Tom-Tom (3)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block (5)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Chiaroscuro, Three Sketches for Symphonic Wind Band, (2015-16) structure explores a fast-slow-fast classical arch, where each individual movement deals with distinctive technical-musical concerns. The first explores a process known as metric modulation, where different tempi are chained through metric/metronomic interrelationships at various levels; the second, in total contrast, is static and introspective, with a single and immutable tempo from beginning to end, featuring a long trombone solo, shadowed by the comments of a second muted trombone; lastly, the third, lively and agitated, retrieves the metrical irregularity of the first but in a more dancing manner, with metric alternation almost every bar. In spite of these particularities, Chiaroscuro is, in essence, an eminently abstract piece whose title is borrowed from the Renaissance painting technique which is characterized by expressive light and shadow contrasts.

This work is dedicated to the Portuguese Symphonic Band, its musicians and its artistic director, Francisco Ferreira, in deep friendship and as recognition for their outstanding effort in promoting Portuguese music during this first decade of their existence.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer