Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 6:50
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Inspired by the westernmost county in the state of New York, this dynamic original composition has three primary sections entitled: Sunrise on Chautauqua, A New Dawn, and Through the Nickelodeon. The listener is captivated by the beautiful melodies and flowing dynamic swells in the beginning section and once established, attention is divided between contemporary musical sounds and yesteryear's musical style. Vivid sounds are exemplified in this extraordinary composition.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Chautauqua County Music Educators Association and Chautauqua Band, John Cross, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • California: SCSBOA Band Music List Grade III
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works