Ceremonial Dances

From Wind Repertory Project
Greg Danner

Setting by Greg Danner

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: III+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


1. Processional: The Queen's Command – 1:20
2. Galliard: Earl Stafford – 2:00
3. Pavane: St. Thomas, Wake! – 3:05
4. Shanty: Fortune, My Foe – 2:10


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom, low
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This setting of four English Renaissance dances is in the great band tradition of Holst, Jacob and Vaughan Williams. Movement I is a brief processional called The Queen's Command. The next movement is stately with a medieval sound entitled, Galliard: Earl Strafford. Movement III, Pavane: St. Thomas, Wake! is slow and dignified. The work concludes with the brisk and jaunty Shanty: Fortune, My Foe.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: IV
  • Maryland: IV
  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Illinois State University (Normal) Symphonic Band (Marykatheryne E. Kuhne, conductor) – 4 October 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Danner, G. (2010). Ceremonial Dances [score]. Grand Mesas Music: Grand Junction, Colo.
  • Greg Danner website Accessed 1 September 2017
  • Schwartz, Robert M. "Ceremonial Dances." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 9, edit. & comp. by Richard Miles, 329-335. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2013.