Celebration and Reflection

From Wind Repertory Project
Jack Gallagher

Jack Gallagher

General Info

Year: 1987
Duration: c. 7:30
Difficulty: VII
Publisher: Manduca Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $25.00


Full Score
C Trumpet I-II
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Celebration and Reflection, composed in 1987, was first performed March 13, 1988 at the Fourth Annual Festival of Contemporary Music at Kent State University. Subsequent performances have included the Charleston Symphony Brass Quintet, the Wisconsin Brass Quintet at the University of Wisconsin, the Northern Brass Quintet at Lawrence University, the Portland Brass Quintet at the University of Southern Maine, the Old Dominion Brass Quintet at ODU, the Michiana Brass Ensemble at the 1995 Society of Composers Midwest Conference at Ohio University, the Sam Houston State University Faculty Brass Quintet at the 1999 SHSU Festival of Contemporary Music, the Norumbega Brass Quintet, the Paragon Brass Quintet at the University of Akron, and the Kent Faculty Brass Quintet.

Intended to evoke a festive spirit and honor a commemorative occasion, the work is cast in straightforward three-part form. It consists of a rapid, angular scherzo—with meters changing from 5/8, 6/8, and 7/8 to 11/8—framing a slower, lyrical, and reflective middle section. Challenging solo opportunities are presented to each performer. The work is dedicated, with affection, to the composer's son, Ryan.

The International Trumpet Guild Journal found the work "an outstanding addition to brass quintet literature," citing its "imaginative style, and the enthusiastic audience response it is sure to achieve."

Celebration and Reflection is published by PP Music, a division of Manduca Music Publications, Portland, Maine.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kent Faculty Brass Quintet - 6 November 2010 - Ludwig Recital Hall, Hugh A. Glauser School of Music, Kent State University, Kent, OH.

Works for Winds by This Composer