Celebration (Gregson)

From Wind Repertory Project
Edward Gregson

Edward Gregson

Subtitle: Praeludium for Wind, Brass, Percussion, Harp and Piano

General Info

Year: 1991
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maecenas Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $135.00   |   Score Only - $45.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Clashed Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned for the 150th anniversary of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, first performed at their gala concert in the presence of H.M. The Queen, Celebration is a miniature concerto for orchestra without strings. Gregson's command of the medium is everywhere to be seen in this dazzling showpiece.

- Program Note by publisher

Conceived in four continuous sections, the piece celebrates the virtuosity of the players and is a "sort of miniature concerto for orchestra (without strings)." The opening is a fanfare by three spatially separated trumpets and tubular bells; part two is for wind trios, harp and percussion; part three is a chorale for woodwinds only; and the conclusion, with its development, climax and reprise, is for full ensemble.

- Program Note by Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA
  • Louisiana: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of South Florida (Tampa) Wind Ensemble (Matthew McCutchen, conductor) - 25 September 2020
  • University of Georgia (Athens) Hodgson Wind Symphony (Jaclyn Hartenberger, conductor) - 13 November 2019
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Symphonic Band (Suzanne Charney, conductor) - 3 November 2019
  • Cleveland Winds (Cleveland, Ohio) (Birch Browning, conductor) - 7 November 2011
  • United States Coast Guard Band (New London, Conn.) (Kenneth W. Megan, conductor) - 16 December 2009 (2009 Midwest Clinic)

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Gregson, E. (1991). Celebration : Praeludium for Wind, Brass Percussion, Harp and Piano [score]. Maecenas Music: Surrey [England].
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 253