Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Adolphus Hailstork

Adolphus Hailstork

General Info

Year: 1975 / 2019
Duration: c. 3:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $18.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (medium)
  • Roto-Toms
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Timbales (4)
  • Triangle
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The years leading to the U.S. Bicentennial (1976) saw a great flowering of artistic celebration, including the commissioning of American composers to write festive works for the occasion. The Nashville Symphony and its conductor Thor Johnson asked Adolphus Hailstork for such a work to premiere, and to distribute the music at no cost to high school orchestras around the United States. The present version for band followed as a natural offshoot of the infectiously exhilarating three-minute work.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Adolphus Hailstork website Accessed 13 February 2020
  • Hailstork, A. [2019] (1975). Celebration! [score]. Theodore Presser Co.: King of Prussia, Penn.
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 344.
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 75/4 (February/March, 2021), p. 29-30.