Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nicole Piunno

Nicole Piunno

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 10:35
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Nicole Piunno Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Available November 2021


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba (divisi)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (3: small, medium and large)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Catharsis by Nicole Piunno is the musical retelling of the composer dealing with a facial injury that nearly ended her musical career.

- Program Note from Washington and Lee University Wind Ensemble concert program, 7 April 2020

As with most of my music, this piece will display reality as it currently is and reality as it could be. I want the piece to give listeners the opportunity to experience a cleansing of emotion that leads to renewal. The piece will be more in the realm of absolute music and is intended to show that through music we have the power to use our imaginations for good rather than evil. It will be a piece where I do not hold back in terms of intensity, drama, beauty or joy.

- Program Note (pre-composition) by composer

Catharsis is a psalm for band that consists of three connected movements (unnamed). The piece begins with a fanfare that acts as an acknowledgement and cleaning of emotion. This gives way to a calmer lyrical movement, which eventually turns spirited and dance-like. Finally, the cathartic fanfare returns as it combines with this dance theme.

Music needs no justification. It is a good thing that can be cherished for its own sake. It can show reality as it currently is and reality as it can be in the future. Music has great power to help express and release emotions inside of us, and it has the power to connect us with realities we do not easily sense or experience. With this work I used music as a vehicle to both acknowledge emotions from within and to tap into a brighter reality that exists regardless of circumstances.

- Program Note from composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Washington and Lee University (Lexington, Va.) Wind Ensemble (Christopher Dobbins, conductor) - 8 November 2021 *Premiere Performance*
  • Dordt University (Sioux Center, Iowa) Wind Symphony (Onsby Rose, conductor) - 8 March 2021 (pre-premiere Performance)
  • Washington and Lee University (Lexington, Va.) Wind Ensemble (Christopher Dobbins, conductor) – 7 April 2020 (scheduled, but concert canceled)

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works