From Wind Repertory Project
Rudolf Nováček

Rudolf Nováček (arr. Karel Belohoubek)

General Info

Year: 1884
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $80.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Trumpet I-II (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Cornet (Flugelhorn) I-II
B-flat Bass Trumpet (optional)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Castaldo is a humorous encore military march for symphonic band. Czech wit has touched this classic march. Humor has been the survival instinct of the Czech people during five different political regimes (some elegant and others highly repressive) of the 20th century.

Sophistication adds to the musical charm of Castaldo. There is no bold musical slapstick here, just subtle change which comes from alternating meter and tempo by moving back and forth from a march to a waltz. The surprise effect brings musical delight to the listener.

- Program Note from Published Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer