Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Carrie Magin

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carrie Magin


Carrie Magin (b. 1981) is an American composer, percussionist and educator.

Dr. Magin holds degrees from the University of Michigan (bachelor’s degrees in composition and percussion) and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (master’s degree and Doctor of Musical Arts degree in composition) as well as certificates from the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague and the Janácek Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Brno, Czech Republic. She is currently [2021] assistant professor of composition and theory at Houghton College in upstate New York, and she is a composition faculty member at Interlochen Arts Camp.

Though her past work focused mainly on instrumental music (commissions by the Akron Youth Symphony, percussionist Kenyon Williams, and the Promethean Saxophone Quartet), Carrie Magin’s recent interests revolve around the relationship between sung or spoken text and music (recent commissions by Georgia College Choral Ensembles, the University of Cincinnati CCM Chorale, bass trombonist Russ Zokaites, and the Immanuel Presbyterian Choir in Cincinnati, OH). In 2014, she collaborated with Vancouver-based poet Shannon Rayne on Coffee Stained, a jazz-like 15-minute work for bass trombone, piano, and narrator.

As a marimba-focused percussionist, Carrie Magin has worked closely with the renowned marimbists/percussionists Keiko Abe, Nancy Zeltsman, Bogdan Bacanu, and Peter Sadlo. She has frequently performed her own work and had various performances in Europe including solo and ensemble concerts in the Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, and France.

Additional honors include a Fulbright teaching assistantship, a Strategic Opportunity Stipend from the New York Foundation for the Arts, and the invitation to be a visiting guest Composer at Minnesota State University Moorhead. In June of 2014, Magin was a composer-in-residence with The Fiati 5 (Chamber Music Campania in Italy).

Works for Winds


  • Carrie Magin website Accessed 5 January 2018
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 404-405.