Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Carol of the Bells

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mykola Leontovych

Mykola Leontovych (arr. Peter J. Wilhousky & Sean O'Loughlin)

This work is also known as the "Ukranian Bell Carol."

General Info

Year: 1904 [1914?] / 1936 / 2004
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

One of the most beloved Christmas tunes, Carol of the Bells gets a true symphonic makeover in this powerful arrangement. The music soars while the driving rhythm keeps the momentum going through the entire piece.

- Program Note from publisher

Sources vary on composition date, 1904 or 1914.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Leontovych, M.; Wilhousky, P.; O'Loughlin, S. (2004). Carol of the Bells [score]. Carl Fischer; New York.