Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Carnival of the Animals

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Camille Saint-Saëns

Camille Saint-Saëns (arr. Geoffrey Brand)

This work bears the subtitles Concert Suite and Grand Zoological Fantasy.

General Info

Year: 1886 / 1995
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Two pianos and other instruments
Publisher: G & M Brand
Cost: Score and Parts - $130.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


1. Introduction and Royal March of the Lions
2. The Elephant
3. The Cuckoo far off in the Wood
4. Fossils
5. The Swan
6. Finale


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Mallet Percussion, including:

  • Xylophones (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Saint-Saens wrote his Grand Zoological Fantasy - The Carnival of the Animals - in 1886. It was first performed at a Shrove Tuesday concert in that year with the composer as one of the performers.

Subsequently, Saint-Saens allowed it to be performed on only a few occasions and under special circumstances. Later he forbade it to be performed at all, but this restriction was lifted under a special provision in his will.

In this arrangement of six of the movements, parts for two xylophones are included, by and large replacing the piano parts. If desired (or required), the xylophone parts can be played on one piano (not two!) or on an electric keyboard. Selected or individual movements can be played separately. The Swan particularly suggests itself as a solo for euphonium in its own right.

Above all, the humour of the Fantasy should be allowed its due. The Carnival of the Animals is meant to be enjoyed.

- Program note by arranger


State Ratings

  • Georgia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Saint-Saens, C.; Brand, G. (1995). Concert Suite from Carnival of the Animals [score]. G.&M. Brand: Wingrave, Bucks.