Capriccio (arr Noble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Gustav Holst

Gustav Holst (arr. Paul Noble)

General Info

Year: 1932 / 1967 / 2018
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Noble Music Publications through
Cost: Score and Partandmusicpdf.nets (print) - $85.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Holst wrote this work in the spring of 1932, while he was guest lecturer in composition at Harvard University. He had been asked by Nathaniel Shilkret to write "a short radio piece, no longer than five or six minutes" for a "composers'" series on folk music themes. Holst wrote to me on 13 May 1932, saying: "On May 1 I started sketching a piece for Shilkret's Radio jazz band in New York. I finished the sketch on the 4th and the full score on the 8th … Shilkret wanted something n American airs, but I've left them out because I prefer my own so he may reject the thing." Shilkret was enthusiastic about the piece, but he was unable to use it for his series. "I hate to give it up," he told the composer, "but I cannot play it because it is not based on a definite English or American folk theme."

Holst never revised his hurriedly-written work, probably because he had too many other things to write during the remaining two years fofhis life, when he was having to spent a good deal of his time in hospital. The autograph manuscript of his original full score is in the British Library, MS Add. 47833. The work has no name. Holst refers to it as his Jazz band piece" or as "Mr. Shilkret's Maggot." The score needed editing. Here were gaps and patches with incomplete dynamics and phrase marks. I made the version for orchestra and named it Capriccio in spite of the viola's (now saxophone's) expressive opening, because from the moment of the marimba's first animated remark there can be no doubt about the mood of the music.

- Program Note by arranger, excerpted from introduction by Imagen Holst


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Bowling Green (Ohio) State University Wind Symphony (Bruce Moss, conductor) – 4 May 2019 *Wind Arrangement Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Music