Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Canzona per sonare IV

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Giovanni Gabrieli

Giovanni Gabrieli (ed. Robert King)

Subtitle: From Canzoni per sonori con ogni sorte di stromenti, Venice, 1608

General Info

Year: 1608 / 1957
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Robert King Music, through Alphonse Leduc
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $18.10


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F (or Trombone)
Euphonium (or Tuba)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Transcribed by popular brass arranger Robert King, this edition of Giovanni Gabrieli's Canzona per Sonare No. 4 from Canzoni per sonare con ogni sorte di stromenti provides an exciting performance piece for a large brass ensemble. Being one of the most influential musicians during the shift from the Renaissance to the Baroque era, it is no secret that the composer lent himself primarily to vocal and sacred works. However, his Canzona per Sonare No. 4 represents an important turn, not only in the composer's career but in musical history. Composed in 1608, this piece helped pave the way to what would soon become the new Baroque concerto style, which remains popular to this day. King's arrangement of this historical work is indispensable for brass ensembles.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Missouri: Brass.Quartet.Grade.B
  • Ohio: 572 – 2 TRT 2 TBN QUARTET B
  • Ohio: 571 – 2 TRT HORN TBN B
  • Texas: Brass Quartet Class 2


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Appalachian State University (Boone, N.C.) Symphony Band Brass Ensemble - 6 October 2020
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, Mass.) Wind Ensemble (Frederick Harris, Jr., conductor) – 6 December 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gabrieli, G.; King, R. (1957). Canzona per sonare No. 4 from Canzoni per sonare (1608) for 4-pt brass choir or brass quartet [score]. Robert King: [s.l.].