Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

But Joy Comes...

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
William Owens

William Owens

Subtitle: In Memory of Rebekah Hart

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00; (digital) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This gorgeous piece, whose title is taken from Psalm 30:4-5, offers a wonderful opportunity for the band to explore various colors, sounds and harmonies. A strong emphasis on style and dynamic contrast is vital in capturing the character of the music, in which expressive demands abound.

"...Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning." This beautiful verse is the center of this haunting work dedicated to a vibrant young lady whose life ended all too soon. While not technically difficult, the potential for musical expression and maturity is vast.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Rice Middle School Band, Plano, Texas, Jason Tucker, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Columbus (Ohio) State Community College Concert Band (Thomas Lloyd, conductor) - 5 March 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works