From Wind Repertory Project
Roger Cichy

Roger Cichy

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $140.00   |   Score Only - $50.00


1. Prelude - 1:50
2. Dragonfly 2:18
3. Praying Mantis - 2:47
4. Black Widow Spider - 2:20
5. Tiger Swallowtail - 2:41
6. Army Ants - 2:35


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bar Chimes
  • Bongos
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marching Machine
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Rainstick
  • Ratchet
  • Snare Drum (3)
  • Splash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam Tam
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibraslap
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone

Players snapping fingers


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Bugs came to mind a few years ago and the thought of giving a "musical personality" to the selected bugs seemed humorous, inventive and capricious all at the same time. The insect and spider collection at the Fields Museum of Natural History in Chicago, Illinois, provided inspiration, and at the same time made it difficult for Cichy to narrow the list down to about six or so. The particular bugs represented in this suite were chosen partly because of the contrasting styles of music that would be composed for each.

Prelude, which begins the suite, was not conceived as part of the original set of movements but was included when Cichy began work on the piece. "The suite seemed to need an introduction, and this just came out and fell into place," commented Cichy. The prelude is meant to suggest many of the creatures we associate as bugs.

Dragonfly portrays several issues. First, the insect is really considered an aquatic bug, spending most of its life under water while emerging only in its adult stage to take to the air. The second issue is reflected in folklore where the dragonfly is responsible for flying around at night and sewing all the mouths of fibbing boys and girls.

Praying Mantis, as its name implies, provides a perfect topic for a slow, religioso movement. The mantis is often pictured resting with its front legs folded as though in meditation or prayer. The rather bizarre mating tendencies of the praying mantis were purposefully left out of this movement.

Black Widow Spider was a movement Cichy could not resist. Set to a cool blues, the opening statement was written with an eight note pattern (eight legs of the spider) which changes several times in order of notes but contains the same pitches. Within a few repetitions of the pattern, five more notes are added to complete a dodecaphonic (twelve-note) scale. In its entirety, the dodecaphonic scale is played from C to C an octave higher, working inward to the center pitch (F#) which represent the spider's web. The textures begin changing from cool blues to hot as the black widow spider approaches its prey with its deadly venom.

The suite would be incomplete without the most gorgeous of all insects, the butterfly. Cichy chose Tiger Swallowtail for no particular reason other than it is commonly the "flying flower." Set in a lyrical style, this movement tries to musically depict the grace and beauty of such a remarkable insect.

The final movement, Army Ants, provides the perfect subject for a march-style piece. Cichy created a dissonant march portraying the ants as savage predators which are constantly on the move.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Miles, Richard B., and Larry Blocher. 2002. Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 4. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 590-602.