Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Blue Bird, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Charles Villiers Stanford

Charles Villiers Stanford (arr. Steven Bryant)

General Info

Year: 1910 / 2016
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Steven Bryant
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Solo Flugelhorn
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Euphonium I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Stanford’s The Blue Bird is a partsong, on a poem by Mary Coleridge. The soprano voice solos (heard in the flute, clarinet, and flugelhorn) are not exactly “blue notes” in the jazz sense. Rather, they convey a sense of mind, detached somehow from the everyday, a dreamlike state.

The lake lay blue below the hill,
O’er it, as I looked, there flew
Across the waters, cold and still,
A bird whose wings were palest blue.
The sky above was blue at last,
The sky beneath me blue in blue,
A moment, ere the bird had passed,
It caught his image as he flew.

- Program Note from Baylor University Symphonic Band concert program, 28 February 2017

This is an arrangement of Charles Villiers Stanford’s exquisite choral work from 1910. I made this during the summer of 2016 for my own pleasure, and as a primer for myself just before writing Nothing Gold Can Stay.

- Program Note by Steven Bryant


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Baylor University (Waco, Texas) Symphonic Band (Isaiah Odajima, conductor) – 28 February 2018
  • University of Colorado Boulder Symphonic Band (Matthew Roeder, conductor) – 8 February 2018
  • Baylor University (Waco, Texas) Symphonic Band (Isaiah Odajima, conductor) – 28 February 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer