From Wind Repertory Project
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

This work is the second movement of the composer's Krisanna's Colors.

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II (II div. a2)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone (div. a2)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Mark Tree
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Simple, yet elegant and graceful, Blue is a lyrical work by Robert W. Smith for the developing concert band. Beautiful harmonic changes rooted in the language of American jazz make Blue a rich educational experience on many levels.

- Program Note from publisher

Blue was originally composed as a movement from a suite for band entitled Krisanna's Colors. The suite was written to honor Krisanna Roberts, an amazing young lady who shared her joy and love for life with all. She described her days and emotions in colors. A blue day for Krisanna was a sad and reflective day. Yet, her enormous spirit conveyed beauty in the face of adversity. Determined, loving generous, funny -- Krisanna truly live in the light.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works