Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Blessed Promising Future

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yoshio Nakahashi

Yoshio Nakahashi

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – Rental ($300.00)


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-VIII
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-VIII
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV-V-VI
Trombone I-II-III-IV-V-VI
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum (2)
  • Bongos
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mokushou (2)
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks (4)
  • Tom-Tom (5)
  • Triangle (3)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Bell (2)
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Blessed Promising Future (2006) was commissioned and premiered by the Japan Ground Self-Defense Force Central Band in 2004. The Japanese title is Shinato no Jakusou. Shinato means "place where wind occurs." The wind from Shinato is said to blow every impurity away. Jakusou refers to the nest of a magpie, a crow-like bird. It is said that magpies have instincts to predict the winds of the year and avoid the strong wind when they make their nest. That is why magpies are believed to have an ability to predict the future.

The composer combined the ideas of magpie and time in the piece. Sharp sounds of clarinets with glissando is an imitation of magpies crying.

- Program Note from University of North Texas Symphonic Band concert program, 23 April 2017


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer