Be Still and Still Moving

From Wind Repertory Project
Nicole Piunno

Nicole Piunno

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe (div.)
Bassoon (div.)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
Percussion I-IX, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Concert Toms (4)
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals (2: one suspended)
  • Marimba
  • Shekere
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The hymn Be Still, My Soul serves as the backbone of this piece. The opening is calm, yet mysterious. This leads to a more dramatic middle section that is full of continuous motion. Overall, this piece reveals the paradox of finding rest even in the midst of unceasing movement and eventually leads to a bold chorale of the hymn with fanfare-like motives above it. At this moment in the piece I think of the following line from the hymn: "All now mysterious shall be bright at last."

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Texas: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • State University of New York Fredonia Concert Band (Carrie Pawleski, conductor) - 28 September 2023
  • Libertyville (Ill.) High School Wind Ensemble (Adam Gohr, conductor) - 17 November 2022
  • Central Michigan University (Mount Pleasant) Saunders Alumni Band (Pamela Klena, conductor) - 9 October 2022
  • Capital University (Bexley, Ohio) Wind Symphony (Nicole Piunno, conductor) - 2 October 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works