Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Battle Musings

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Henry Wolking Jr.

Henry Wolking Jr.

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 7:55
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wolking Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00; (digital) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Aftermath – Lament for the Fallen
2. The Battle SOS
3. Pre Battle Yearnings for Peach
4. Optimism: Fanfare For Prosperity


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Field Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Battle Musings is not a comment on any particular war or battle. It is rather a contemplation of the tragedy and suffering caused by all wars and the seemingly inevitable cycles of violence and peace. It proceeds in reverse order from the present (war/violence), to the past (optimism/peace).

The work is in four sections. The first section -- Aftermath: Lament for the Fallen -- begins in the present (now or any period of time marked by war) and the last -- Optimism: Fanfare For Prosperity -- concludes the work in the past (prewar prosperity and optimism). The work’s four sections are performed without pause. It was premiered at the 2004 College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) convention in Reno Nevada on March 27, 2004.

Battle Musings was commissioned and premiered by the University of Utah Wind Ensemble, at the 2004 CBDNA convention in Reno Nevada.

- Program Note from publisher

Dedicated to the University of Utah Wind Ensemble and Scott Hagen, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Utah (Salt Lake City) Wind Ensemble (Scott Hagen, conductor) – 27 March 2004 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer