Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dan VanHassel

Dan VanHassel

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Dan VanHassel
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $250.00


Full Score
Solo Electric Guitar
Piccolo I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Eb Clarinet I
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • 1 Bass Drum
  • 3 Car Suspension Springs
  • 1 China Cymbal
  • 2 Glockenspiels
  • 1 Hi-Hat
  • 1 Marimba
  • 1 Splash Cymbal
  • 2 Suspended Cymbals
  • 1 Ride Cymbal
  • 2 Tam-Tams
  • 3 Triangles
  • 1 Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The word “balungan” refers to the basic underlying melody of a Javanese gamelan composition from which all the individual parts are derived. This piece is constructed similarly, with a long slow melody beginning very high and gradually descending over the course of the piece. All of the pitched instruments are playing parts following or elaborating on this basic melody. The non-pitched percussion are following an opposite trajectory, starting low and gradually moving higher. Although Balungan features an electric guitar "soloist," it is not a concerto in any traditional sense. The guitar instead acts as a sort of "leader" of the ensemble, providing the structural underpinning which the other instruments then echo and elaborate on. Balungan was commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University for Nathaniel Berman and the UC Santa Cruz Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • UC Santa Cruz Wind Ensemble (Nathaniel Berman, conductor; Dan VanHassel, electric guitar) – 6 May 2016 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.