Ave Fenix

From Wind Repertory Project
Ferrer Ferran

Ferrer Ferran

Subtitle: Canto Sinfónico a la Esperanza

The title and subtitle of this work translate from the Spanish as Phoenix (Symphonic Song of Hope).

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 20:35
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ferrar Ferran
Cost: Score and Parts - Free

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet (extended low range required (low D3))
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Timpani (extended low range required (low C2))
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Congas (3)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Tree
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Block
  • Tom-toms (3: 2 low)
  • Triangle
  • Wind Machine
  • Wood Block

Cello (optional)
Choir (SATB)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 2020 a dramatic situation occurred in the world. The pandemic produced by “coronavirus” changed humanity.

Phoenix is a song to hope. The composer has wanted to reflect everything that happened by subtitling the following sequences of the arduous days lived in the world:

– A worldwide alarm is coming.
– A deadly virus will change the world, coronavirus.
– The virus is spreading all over the world. A pandemic is occurring.
– Everyone is fighting and cheering to beat Covid-19. It’s 8 p.m., time for applauding on balconies.
– The virus causes thousands of deaths and infections around the world.
– Day after day, at least 36 days of lockdown without leaving home, yet encouragement from balconies is a daily celebration.
– “Everything will be all right” is the daily motto. Children draw a rainbow as a symbol of hope.
– The “singing of the angels” receives the weakest —the defeated souls.
– Like a lullaby to that “child” who slept and never woke up again.
– Alleluia! The world must go on and fight together, with joy and love.
– Children cry helplessly and mourn for their lost loved ones.
– Last words to the dying soul, the daughter (flute) thrills and encourages the father (bassoon) to defeat the virus. The father replies, thanks her and sometimes cannot even say goodbye.
– The gates of heaven open. Hope to the world.

Ferrer Ferran wishes to dedicate this composition to all those who left us in this alarming situation, to those who took care of us, and to all those who made us feel “peace”, “harmony” and “hope”. May the ashes of the “Phoenix Bird” revive.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Agrupación Musical "Maestro Martín Díaz" (Argamasilla De Alba, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain) and the Coral Polifónica Cervantina (Ferrer Ferran, conductor) – 22 August 2020 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Sonatur (Flex instrumentation) (2016)

All Wind Works