Autumn from "The Seasons"

From Wind Repertory Project
Alexander Glazunov

Alexander Glazunov (arr. V. F. Safranek)

Subtitle: Bacchanal : 4th Scene from the Ballet The Seasons, op. 67b

This work bears the designation United States Military Band Journal no. 251

General Info

Year: 1921
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
Cornets Solo-I-II
Flugelhorn I-II
E-flat Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Seasons ballet is Alexander Glazourov's most popular work, representing Romantic music at its peak. This three-movement transcription faithfully adheres to the original voicings and sonorities.

- Program Note from publisher

Glazunov’s musical score to choreographer Marius Petipa ballet Les Saisons (The Seasons) was first debuted in 1900. Autumn is the last of four tableaus, or scenes, depicted in the ballet. The opening phrase immediately brings life the final, exuberant tableau, introducing dancers in a recurring melodic motif the ‘Autumn Bacchanale’. With its soaring melodic line and dance-like percussive foundation (provided by a tambourine ostinato), the bacchanale conveys a celebratory portrayal of the autumnal season. Musical motifs from the spring movement are recalled with dolce melodies in the clarinet and flute, and the chirping of birds represented by oboe and piccolo. The centerpiece of the movement includes a significant romantic adagio section featuring solo instrumentalists as well as a prominent role for the harpist. The primary melody is presented, developed, then carried forth by various voices before each ascends, then dissolves, signifying the falling of the autumn leaves. The frolicking bacchanale motif returns once again, this time presented in triple meter variation. Near the end of the work, a robust line in the low brass conveys certainty of the changing seasons forthwith. Darkness and seeming instability gives way to a sense of ease and resolve, and the closing of the ballet ultimately reflects the celestial brightness of the collection of constellations that have hovered above earth throughout the ages.

- Program Notes by Julia Loshelder and Quinton Smith for the Marcus High School Wind Symphony


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer