Audivi Media Nocte

From Wind Repertory Project
Oliver Waespi

Oliver Waespi

General Info

Year: 2011 / 2013
Duration: c. 19:55
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass Band
Publisher: Beriato Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €315.00   |   Score Only (print) - €78.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drumset
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom (concert)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Audivi Media Nocte (I heard at midnight) is based on the eponymous motet by Thomas Tallis from the 16th Century – a work that holds great fascination for Oliver Waespi. During the process of composition, various chord sequences and rhythmical structures emerged that led the work in the direction of a musical drama, with elements of a concerto grosso and solos for different soloists.

-Program Note from publisher

Written as a loose arch form in five parts, Audivi Media Nocte is a musical narrative that continually fluctuates between prayerful and raving moods, comtemplative and frivolos atmospheres, and the past and the present. These important dialectics are central to understanding and performing this work.

- Program Note from Teaching Music through Performance in Band


  • National Band Association William D. Revelli Award 2013, winner


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer