From Wind Repertory Project
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

This work is the first movement of Sinfonia Hungarica.

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 12:45
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts - €261.67 | Study Score - €51.39


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoons I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Anvils (as many as possible)
  • Bass Drum
  • Beatring
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbal
  • Flaxatone
  • Floor Tom
  • Glockenspiel
  • Low Tom
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam (2)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chime
  • Wind Machine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sinfonia Hungarica is a three-movement symphony that depicts the history of Hungary. All three movements were inspired by historical key figures, wars, and other important events from this country. This symphony is a celebration of Hungary’s millennium in 2001.

Attila, King of the Huns, often named “The scourge of God,” is the central figure of the first movement, mainly characterized by fear, threat, aggression, and cruelty. Attila’s brother, Buda, however, has a more heroic theme, while his beloved wife, Rika, has a lyrical melody. The exciting ending of this opening movement illustrates the dreaded speed of Attila’s troops: they pursued their victims and killed them all.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer