Ashokan Farewell

From Wind Repertory Project
Jay Ungar

Jay Ungar (arr. Calvin Custer)

General Info

Year: 1983
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $9.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Jay Ungar has provided us with the story behind this waltz, mainly performed by solo violin, with guitar and bass accompaniment: “Ashokan Farewell was named for Ashokan, a camp in the Catskill Mountains not far from Woodstock, New York. It’s the place where Molly Mason and I have run the Ashokan Fiddle & Dance Camps for adults and families since 1980. Ashokan is the name of a town, most of which is now under a very beautiful and magical body of water called the Ashokan Reservoir...

“I composed Ashokan Farewell in 1982 shortly after our Ashokan Fiddle & Dance Camps had come to an end for the season. I was feeling a great sense of loss and longing for the music, the dancing and the community of people that had developed at Ashokan that summer. I was having trouble making the transition from a secluded woodland camp with a small group of people who needed little excuse to celebrate the joy of living, back to life as usual, with traffic, newscasts, telephones and impersonal relationships. By the time the tune took form, I was in tears. I kept it to myself for months, unable to fully understand the emotions that welled up whenever I played it. I had no idea that this simple tune could affect others in the same way.

Ashokan Farewell was written in the style of a Scottish lament. I sometimes introduce it as, ‘a Scottish lament written by a Jewish guy from the Bronx.’ I lived in the Bronx until the age of sixteen.”

- Program Note by Foothill Symphonic Winds concert program, 8 March 2015

This gorgeous melody became famous as part of the soundtrack to the television mini-series The Civil War. Composed by Jay Ungar for solo fiddle, the piece works perfectly for concert band.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Salem Band (Winston Salem, N.C.) (Eileen M. Young, conductor) - 19 February 2023
  • Charlottesville (Va.) Municipal Band (Stephen R. Layman, conductor; Don Brubaker, violin) - 14 August 2018
  • Pacific Coast Wind Ensemble (Florence, Ore.) (David Olson, conductor) - 12 May 2018
  • Vienna (VA) Community Band (Kathy Wilson, conductor) -5 November 2017
  • Kings Park Concert Band (Fairfax, Va.) (Rich Bergman, conductor) – 5 November 2017
  • University of Nebraska (Lincoln) Symphonic Band (Anthony Falcone, conductor) – 7 March 2017
  • Atascadero (Calif.) Community Band (Cassandra Tarrantino, conductor) – 2 August 2016
  • Danville (Calif.) Community Band (Robert Calonico, conductor) – 10 April 2016
  • San Ramon (Calif.) Symphonic Band (Bryan Holbrook, conductor) – 25 October 2015
  • Atascadero (Calif.) Community Band (Garson Olivieri, conductor) - 17 May 2015
  • Foothill Symphonic Winds (Palo Alto, Calif.) (David Bruce Adams, conductor) - 8 March 2015
  • 399th Army Band, Fort Leonard Wood, Mo. - 7 November 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Unger, J.; Custer, C. (1983). Ashokan Farewell [score]. Alfred: Hurley, N.Y.