Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ascension (Mitchell)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Darren Mitchell

Darren Mitchell

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00   |   Score Only (print) - $18.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (both div. a2))
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


In Score and Parts:

  • Horn in F I, m. 75: The B-flat4 quarter note on beat 3 should be a A4
  • Percussion I, Vibraphone, m. 74: The D3 half note should be a D-flat3

Program Notes

In his first published band work, composer Mitchell has created a tightly knit composition characterized by upward major and minor thirds and very creative use of triple meter. Sparkling scoring and rising lines propel the work toward its ultimate and very exciting goal.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer