Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

This work is the second movement of Sinfonia Hungarica. The title is correctly written "Árpád".

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 11:14
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts - €261.67 | Score - €51.39


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoons I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Anvils (as many as possible)
  • Bass Drum
  • Beatring
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbal
  • Flaxatone
  • Floor Tom
  • Glockenspiel
  • Low Tom
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam (2)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chime
  • Wind Machine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sinfonia Hungarica is a three-movement symphony that depicts the history of Hungary. All three movements were inspired by historical key figures, wars, and other important events from this country. This symphony is a celebration of Hungary’s millennium in 2001.

The second movement focuses on Arpad, the actual founder of the Hungarian state. It starts with an atmospherical passage, evoking his grandmother, Emese, who dreamt about his future destination. One of Arpad’s opponents, the Bulgarian Prince Zalan, was chased away after a fight. After this, Arpad officially named the territory “Magyarorszag.”

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer