Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Rackley

David William Rackley

Subtitle: Concert March

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript


C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Armistice was written as part of a 1991 project featuring a collection of military-themed music. Originally scored for orchestra and titled Home Coming, the music was intended to convey the emotions of military troops triumphantly returning to grateful crowds across the nation following years in the battlefields of distant countries. Armistice begins with subdued fanfares and flourishes before settling into a marching theme played by solo woodwinds. Later, alternating between fanfares and flourishes, the marching theme is restated, this time in the form of a solemn hymn, which builds into a joyful celebration commemorating the triumphant end to a terrible world conflict.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.