Arioso (arr Reed)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. Alfred Reed)

This work bears the designation BWV 156.

General Info

Year: 1729 / 1998
Duration: c. 5:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $5.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (I doubling B-flat Soprano Saxophone)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (optional Piano)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This arrangement of the Arioso (from Cantata No. 176) is soft, delicate, sensitive, and meant to be performed at a very slow tempo, this superlative Alfred Reed arrangement is a wonderful addition to the band repertoire. Definitely written for mature bands, the notes aren’t hard, but the music itself will challenge the skills of even the very best bands.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works