Aria Cantabile

From Wind Repertory Project
Frank Erickson

Frank Erickson

General Info

Year: 1990
Duration: c. 3:35
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Belwin Mills, through Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $50.00   |   Score - $6.00


Full Score
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Baritone Bass Clef
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Timpani


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Here is a marvelously moving, yet highly sophisticated offering of tonal colors.

- Program Note from publisher

Although the bulk of his output was dedicated to young bands and music education, his compositions were known for their marvelous counterpoint and lyrical styling, an inspiration to other composers of the time. Aria Cantabile is a marvelously moving, simply written, yet highly sophisticated offering of tonal colors.

- Program Note from Lee University Wind Ensemble concert program, 30 November 2016


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • California: Southern California School Band and Orchestra Association - C
  • Texas: II. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Erickson, F. (1990). Aria Cantabile [score]. Belwin-Mills: Miami, Fla.